paperpastimes

Welcome to my world of craftiness

Elegance….

on 27/03/2015

Hi folks, I have a simple card to show you today, I picked this new spellbinders frame up from the craft show at the NEC, its called Fleur de elegance, Its quite big so didn’t need much else  , and the only other die I used was spellbinders classic oval large to make the aperture .  The flowers are from wild orchid crafts and the paper and image I got from Live and love crafts.

DSCF9944

Thanks for looking x

17 responses to “Elegance….

  1. margaret driscoll UK says:

    Hello Debbie
    This is so pretty I must look up this Die!
    Hope all is well with you!
    Take care
    Love Marg

  2. Shirley says:

    This is so beautiful just like the other cards. Please can you tell me where and what brand your dies are. I live in a country town and would love to know where I can get them

    • debbi4000 says:

      Hi, I list all the brands I use in my posts, e.g Spellbinders, Sue Wilson etc, I get mine from online, Iconuk.co.uk, or sunrise crafts.co.uk, shop around online to find the best deals.

  3. Connie says:

    Always elegant, always charming and always beautiful!!

  4. Cath maider says:

    Beautiful card

  5. Kathy says:

    Another stunner Debbie. So sweet. X

  6. colleen wright says:

    This might be a ‘simple’ card but I think it’s beautiful and one I would be happy to receive.Hope you are well Debbie and thank you for sharing.

  7. Brenda Hanlon says:

    Fab card Debbie as always, like the new die.

  8. Judith Moran says:

    Lovely to see a new post Debbie. I check every day just in case ! Your cards are so distinctive and no one else comes near to capturing your style and creativity. With the trend for heavily embellished cards your purity of design is delightful. Kindest regards Judith x

  9. Rebekka K says:

    Your card is gorgeous Debbie. Love this die.

  10. Susan Brooks says:

    Hi Debbie. Gorgeous card and you are so lucky to have gone to the NEC. It is slightly too far away for me. Thank you for picking up this new die and showing it to us, it is now on my wish list. Have a great weekend. xx

  11. Jeffrey says:

    Debbie, your card making is not merely a hobby…anyone can look at your end results and know card making is definitely your CALLING! I look at other blog galleries first, and THEN surf on over to your site because if I see your cards first, the others just fade in their radiance! Thanks for making my day! I would like to know how you “stack” your base layers. I have been told to cut cereal boxes the same size as my base layers and glue them together, then stack…and I have tried to get the look you achieve, but I can’t seem to get my results exactly like your base. Your boxes seem to be slightly larger than your base cuts….can you share a technique with me??? PLEASE???? THANK YOU!

    • debbi4000 says:

      Hi, Im not quite sure what you mean by ‘boxes’? Do you mean matting and layering? Can I ask why would you use cereal boxes? How I do it is I cut my base layer square 7 inches, matt it onto a cream card or what ever colour you are using, then my next layer I cut a 6 inch square and matt it onto cream card, the decorate the front. Hope this helps…

      • Jeffrey says:

        Thanks for the tip. I have been trying to achieve the layered base look by cutting a 5 x 7 piece out of cardstock, and then using my Spellbinders 5 x 7 Matting Basics A and B to cut the three largest sizes to stack on top of each other, and then placing them on top of the 5 x 7 piece…but I could not get a distinctive “stacked” look. While in our local craft store, I heart a couple of ladies talking about matting and stacking, and I asked them if they had seen your cards…then I pulled up this site on my ipad to show them. Both of them told me that after cutting the 5 x 7 base, then the three matting basic pieces, they both cut the exact sizes from cereal boxes and adhere the cardstock base pieces onto them, and THEN glue and stack them to give a definite raised look to their card base. I tried the “boxes”, but the weight caused the postage to soar up to over $1.50 for EACH! So, I gave up, but never forgot! Wanting to know was driving me crazy! LOL Therefore, I thought to myself, “Self, why not go to the horse’s mouth and get the technique”…and that’s when I saw your new elegance card and thought I’d comment, and ask about your technique at the same time. I think I understand how you are achieving the layers being distinctive. If I were making a white shimmer card, would cut my three base sizes and matt each onto a champagne colored card to get a stacked look like you have on all of your cards? (P.S. I’m sorry it took so much space to obtain such a simple answer…but when I get a mental block over a technique, the only way to get to the answer is to explain thoroughly!) THANKS AGAIN FOR ALL YOU DO!

  12. Carol Clarke says:

    Good morning Debbie and a Happy Easter to you and your family
    Love this card it is stunning – I am also trying to come to terms
    on your stacking
    Hugs
    Carol x

  13. Jeffrey says:

    Debby,
    One more question….AND I’LL MAKE THIS ONE SHORT, I PROMISE! When you are matting each base layer, do you trace the outline of the die you cut your base with, and then cut it out by hand before placing the base and mat layer together? If not, how do you know how large to cut your mat so that a tiny bit extends out behind the base?

Leave a Reply

